Make your own free website on




The American version of the FA Cup, which like its English counterpart is open to any club who can qualify. Professional clubs, from MLS have entered the tournament recently, and have dominated but giantkilling still occurs.

The tournament begun in 1914 and has continued ever since. It has mainly been an amateur competition with full professional teams only recently joining the competition from MLS. Teams from the NASL were not interested in entering. There have been three five time winners; Fall River F.C., Bethlehem Steel and Maccabees S.C.

The addition of MLS teams have given the competition greater exposure and importance. MLS teams have not been able to prevent lesser opposition from performing well. Teams from the A-League, which is equivalent to the second division behind MLS, have been dangerous. Rochester Raging Rhinos, from the A-League, managed to beat four MLS teams consecutively on their way to triumph in 1999.

Apart from this one major upset, MLS teams have managed to win four times in five years since they started to compete.

Click here for a full list of past winners of the US Open Cup

Click here to return to the Football in America page.