Make your own free website on



There are still twelve teams in the league but the conference structure has changed. In previous years there were two conferences with six teams each as shown below.

DC United Los Angeles Galaxy
Columbus Crew Dallas Burn
Tampa Bay Mutiny Colorado Rapids
Miami Fusion Chicago Fire
New England Revolution San Jose Clash
NY/NJ MetroStars Kansas City Wizards

This has changed in 2000 with now three conferences. The play-offs are also different as now the three conference champions plus the five next best team qualify instead of just four from each of the two conferences. San Jose Clash have changed their nickname to the Earthquakes. The conference structure is shown below.

DC United Chicago Fire Colorado Rapids
Miami Fusion Columbus Crew Kansas City Wizards
New England Revolution Dallas Burn Los Angeles Galaxy
NY/NJ MetroStars Tampa Bay Mutiny San Jose Earthquakes

Also penalty shoot-outs have been eliminated. There is ten minutes of sudden-death golden goal extra time but if it is equal after this it is a draw. Wins get three points, draws get one point and losses zero points.


Click here to go back to the MLS page