Make your own free website on



This award begun in 1982 and is voted on by the readers of World Soccer magazine. The results in 2000 are:



1 Luis Figo Portugal 26.04
2 Zinedine Zidane France 20.95
3 Andrii Shevchenko Ukraine 10.16
4 Rivaldo Brazil 4.93
5 Thierry Henry France 4.77
6 Gaizka Mendieta Spain 2.77
7 Francesco Totti Italy 2.31
8 Gabriel Batistuta Argentina 2.15
9 Raul Spain 2.01
10 Alessandro Nesta Italy 1.69

The winner, Luis Figo, had a good 2000 season which included helping Portugal make the semi-finals of Euro 2000 and becoming the player with the world record transfer fee after his move from hated rivals Barcelona to Real Madrid. Zidane also played well at Euro 2000 while Shevchenko had a good first year in Serie A. Previous winners of the award are:

1982 Paolo Rossi Italy
1983 Zico Brazil
1984 Michel Platini France
1985 Michel Platini France
1986 Diego Maradona Argentina
1987 Ruud Gullit Holland
1988 Marco Van Basten Holland
1989 Ruud Gullit Holland
1990 Lothar Matthaus Germany
1991 Jean-Pierre Papin France
1992 Marco Van Basten Holland
1993 Roberto Baggio Italy
1994 Paolo Maldini Italy
1995 Gianluca Vialli Italy
1996 Ronaldo Brazil
1997 Ronaldo Brazil
1998 Zinedine Zidane France
1999 Rivaldo Brazil


Click here to go to the 1999 World Soccer World Player of the Year page

Click here to go back to the awards page