Make your own free website on



This award begun in 1971.From 1971 to 1985 it was awarded by Venezuelan newspaper El Mundo. From 1986 onwards it has been awarded by the Uruguayan newspaper El Pais. It is open only to South American players of South American clubs. The results in 2000 are:



1 Romario Brazil 67
2 Juan Roman Riquelme Argentina 64
3 Oscar Cordoba Colombia 53
Martin Palermo Argentina 53
5 Pablo Aimar Argentina 38
Mauricio Serna Colombia 38
7 Juan Pablo Sorin Argentina 37
8 Francisco Arce Paraguay 36
Jorge Bermudez Colombia 36
10 Carlos Gamarra Paraguay 32

Romario won the award for his goalscoring exploits with both Vasco da Gama and Brazil. Juan Roman Riquelme also impressed helping Boca Juniors win the Copa Libertadores and Toyota Cup. Previous winners of the award are:

1971 Tostao Brazil
1972 Teofilo Cubillas Peru
1973 Pele Brazil
1974 Elias Figueroa Chile
1975 Elias Figueroa Chile
1976 Elias Figueroa Chile
1977 Zico Brazil
1978 Mario Kempes Argentina
1979 Diego Maradona Argentina
1980 Diego Maradona Argentina
1981 Zico Brazil
1982 Zico Brazil
1983 Socrates Brazil
1984 Enzo Francescoli Uruguay
1985 Julio Cesar Romero Paraguay
1986 Antonio Alzamendi Uruguay
1987 Carlos Valderrama Colombia
1988 Ruben Paz Uruguay
1989 Bebeto Brazil
1990 Raul Amarilla Paraguay
1991 Oscar Ruggeri Argentina
1992 Rai Brazil
1993 Carlos Valderrama Colombia
1994 Cafu Brazil
1995 Enzo Francescoli Uruguay
1996 Jose Luis Chilavert Paraguay
1997 Marcelo Salas Chile
1998 Martin Palermo Argentina
1999 Javier Saviola Argentina


Click here to go to the 1999 South American Player of the Year

Click here to go back to the awards page