Make your own free website on



This award is chosen by journalists, originating in 1988 and can be given to any player originating from the Oceania region. This includes two players who have chosen to play for France, Christian Karembeu who came from New Caledonia and Marama Vahirua who came from Tahiti. The results in 2001 are:



1 Harry Kewell Australia 87
2 Mark Viduka Australia 83
3 Brett Emerton Australia 59
4 Craig Moore Australia 23
5 Mark Schwarzer Australia
6 Marama Vahirua Tahiti

The two Australia star players and past two winners of this award who are both currently at Leeds, finished first and second in 2001 with Harry Kewell just edging out Mark Viduka.  Brett Emerton has also impressed at Feyenoord and for Australia over the year to finish in third place. Previous winners of the award are:

1988 Frank Farina Australia
1989 Wynton Rufer New Zealand
1990 Wynton Rufer New Zealand
1991 Robbie Slater Australia
1992 Wynton Rufer New Zealand
1993 Robbie Slater Australia
1994 Aurelio Vidmar Australia
1995 Christian Karembeu France
1996 Paul Okon Australia
1997 Mark Bosnich Australia
1998 Christian Karembeu France
1999 Harry Kewell Australia
2000 Mark Viduka Australia

Click here to go back to the 1999 Oceanian Player of the Year

Click here to go back to the 2000 Oceanian Player of the Year

Click here to go back to the awards page