Make your own free website on



This award begun in 1956 by France Football magazine. Before 1995 only European players playing in Europe were eligible but since then non-European players have also been declared eligible. The results in 2002 are:



1 Ronaldo Brazil 171
2 Roberto Carlos Brazil 145
3 Oliver Kahn Germany 114
4 Zinedine Zidane France 78
5 Michael Ballack Germany 67
6 Thierry Henry France 54
7 Raul Spain 38
8 Rivaldo Brazil 29
9 Yildiray Basturk Turkey 13
10 Alessandro Del Piero Italy 12

Ronaldo won the European Footballer of the Year award for the second time with brilliant performances in the World Cup. World Cup performances also helped Roberto Carlos and Oliver Kahn be ranked second and third. Previous winners of the award are:

1956 Stanley Matthews England
1957 Alfredo Di Stefano Spain
1958 Raymond Kopa France
1959 Alfredo Di Stefano Spain
1960 Luis Suarez Spain
1961 Omar Sivori Italy
1962 Josef Masopust Czechoslovakia
1963 Lev Yashin USSR
1964 Denis Law Scotland
1965 Eusebio Portugal
1966 Bobby Charlton England
1967 Florian Albert Hungary
1968 George Best Northern Ireland
1969 Gianni Rivera Italy
1970 Gerd Muller Germany
1971 Johan Cruyff Holland
1972 Franz Beckenbauer Germany
1973 Johan Cruyff Holland
1974 Johan Cruyff Holland
1975 Oleg Blokhim USSR
1976 Franz Beckenbauer Germany
1977 Allan Simonsen Denmark
1978 Kevin Keegan England
1979 Kevin Keegan England
1980 Karl-Heinz Rummenigge Germany
1981 Karl-Heinz Rummenigge Germany
1982 Paolo Rossi Italy
1983 Michel Platini France
1984 Michel Platini France
1985 Michel Platini France
1986 Igor Belanov USSR
1987 Ruud Gullit Holland
1988 Marco Van Basten Holland
1989 Marco Van Basten Holland
1990 Lothar Matthaus Germany
1991 Jean-Pierre Papin France
1992 Marco Van Basten Holland
1993 Roberto Baggio Italy
1994 Hristo Stoichkov Bulgaria
1995 George Weah Liberia
1996 Matthias Sammer Germany
1997 Ronaldo Brazil
1998 Zinedine Zidane France
1999 Rivaldo Brazil
2000 Luis Figo Portugal
2001 Michael Owen England


Click here to go to the 1999 European Footballer of the Year

Click here to go to the 2000 European Footballer of the Year

Click here to go to the 2001 European Footballer of the Year

Click here to go back to the awards page