Make your own free website on



This is determined by two awards; one voted on by the players, the PFA award, and one voted on by the media, the FWA award. The FWA award originated in 1948 and the PFA in 1974. The only requirement to be eligible for this award is currently playing in the English league. The award is handed out at the end of the season. The results after the  2001/02 season are:



1 Robert Pires Arsenal Ruud van Nistelrooy Manchester United
2 Ruud van Nistelrooy Manchester United Thierry Henry Arsenal
3 David Beckham Manchester United Robert Pires Arsenal

This year for the first time since 1997 the FWA and PFA award winners were different. Arsenal's and Manchester United's dominance in the domestic game was again shown as their players topped both lists. Previous winners of the award are:

1948 Stanley Matthews Blackpool    
1949 Johnny Carey Manchester United    
1950 Joe Mercer Arsenal    
1951 Harry Johnston Blackpool    
1952 Billy Wright Wolverhampton    
1953 Nat Lofthouse Bolton Wanderers    
1954 Tom Finney Preston North End    
1955 Don Revie Manchester City    
1956 Bert Trautmann Manchester City    
1957 Tom Finney Preston North End    
1958 Danny Blanchflower Tottenham Hotspur    
1959 Syd Owen Luton Town    
1960 Bill Slater Wolverhampton    
1961 Danny Blanchflower Tottenham Hotspur    
1962 Jimmy Adamson Burnley    
1963 Stanley Matthews Stoke City    
1964 Bobby Moore West Ham United    
1965 Bobby Collins Leeds United    
1966 Bobby Charlton Manchester United    
1967 Jack Charlton Leeds United    
1968 George Best Manchester United    

Dave Mackay

Tony Book

Derby County

Manchester City

1970 Billy Bremner Leeds United    
1971 Frank McLintock Arsenal    
1972 Gordon Banks Stoke City    
1973 Pat Jennings Tottenham Hotspur    
1974 Ian Callaghan Liverpool Norman Hunter Leeds United
1975 Alan Mullery Fulham Colin Todd Derby County
1976 Kevin Keegan Liverpool Pat Jennings Tottenham Hotspur
1977 Emlyn Hughes Liverpool Andy Gray Aston Villa
1978 Kenny Burns Nottingham Forest Peter Shilton Nottingham Forest
1979 Kenny Dalglish Liverpool Liam Brady Arsenal
1980 Terry McDermott Liverpool Terry McDermott Liverpool
1981 Frans Thijssen Ipswich Town John Wark Ipswich Town
1982 Steve Perryman Tottenham Hotspur Kevin Keegan Southampton
1983 Kenny Dalglish Liverpool Kenny Dalglish Liverpool
1984 Ian Rush Liverpool Ian Rush Liverpool
1985 Neville Southall Everton Peter Reid Everton
1986 Gary Lineker Everton Gary Lineker Everton
1987 Clive Allen Tottenham Hotspur Clive Allen Tottenham Hotspur
1988 John Barnes Liverpool John Barnes Liverpool
1989 Steve Nicol Liverpool Mark Hughes Manchester United
1990 John Barnes Liverpool David Platt Aston Villa
1991 Gordon Strachan Leeds United Mark Hughes Manchester United
1992 Gary Lineker Tottenham Hotspur Gary Pallister Manchester United
1993 Chris Waddle Sheffield Wednesday Paul McGrath Aston Villa
1994 Alan Shearer Blackburn Rovers Eric Cantona Manchester United
1995 Jurgen Klinsmann Tottenham Hotspur Alan Shearer Blackburn Rovers
1996 Eric Cantona Manchester United Les Ferdinand Newcastle United
1997 Gianfranco Zola Chelsea Alan Shearer Newcastle United
1998 Dennis Bergkamp Arsenal Dennis Bergkamp Arsenal
1999 David Ginola Tottenham Hotspur David Ginola Tottenham Hotspur
2000 Roy Keane Manchester United Roy Keane Manchester United
2001 Teddy Sheringham Manchester United Teddy Sheringham Manchester United


Click here to go to the 2000 English Footballer of the Year page

Click here to go to the 2001 English Footballer of the Year page

Click here to go back to the awards page