Make your own free website on



Between 1970 and 1994 this award was determined by the France Football magazine. Since then, from 1995, it has been determined by CAF. The results in 2003 are:


1 Samuel Eto'o Cameroon
FINALISTS Didier Drogba Ivory Coast
Jay-Jay Okocha Nigeria

Samuel Eto'o was impressive for Mallorca and helped Cameroon reach the final of the Confederations Cup. Didier Drogba starred scoring many goals for Marseille, whilst Jay-Jay Okocha starred for Bolton, helping them reach the League Cup final. Previous winners of the award are:

1970 Salif Keita Mali
1971 Ibrahim Sunday Ghana
1972 Cherif Souleymane Guinea
1973 Tshimen Bwanga Zaire
1974 Paul Moukila Congo
1975 Ahmed Faras Morocco
1976 Roger Milla Cameroon
1977 Tarak Dhiab Tunisia
1978 Karim Abdoul Razak Ghana
1979 Thomas N'Kono Cameroon
1980 Jean Manga Onguene Cameroon
1981 Lakhdar Belloumi Algeria
1982 Thomas N'Kono Camerron
1983 Mahmoud Al Khatib Egypt
1984 Theophile Abega Cameroon
1985 Mohamed Timoumi Morocco
1986 Badou Zaki Morocco
1987 Rabah Madjer Algeria
1988 Kalusha Bwalya Zambia
1989 George Weah Liberia
1990 Roger Milla Cameroon
1991 Abedi Pele Ghana
1992 Abedi Pele Ghana
1993 Abedi Pele Ghana
1994 (FF) George Weah Liberia
1994 (CAF) Emmanuel Amunike Nigeria
1995 George Weah Liberia
1996 Nwankwo Kanu Nigeria
1997 Victor Ikpeba Nigeria
1998 Mustapha Hadji Morocco
1999 Nwankwo Kanu Nigeria
2000 Patrick Mboma Cameroon
2001 El Hadji Diouf Senegal
2002 El Hadji Diouf Senegal


Click here to go back to the awards page